2021 Kenneth Patchen Award winner announced!

2021 Kenneth Patchen Award winner announced! = The Journal of Experimental Fiction

Drumroll, please....

Announcing the winner of the 2021 Kenneth Patchen Award for the Innovative Novel...

Dennis Vanderspek of Millbrook, Ontario, has won for his wonderful novel A Is for Everyone!

From among the many dozens of delightful books submitted for the contest, Vanderspek's novel eventually rose to the top. In his encomium for the novel, contest judge Derek Pell, author of Naked Lunch at Tiffany's, Snowdrop in Africa, Assassination Rhapsody, and a score of other amazing books, had this to say about A is for Everyone:

"From A to A ….Ad infinitum.

"In this extraordinary fiction, the author has chosen one letter (“A”) to represent the entire alphabet. All letters lead to A, and A is for everyone.

"A = Everyletter, Everyman.

"One reads between the letter(s) and discovers a new literary form that defies definition.

"When I first approached this manuscript, I thought it might be in the manner of Alphabetical Africa, an Oulipian experiment, but no, the author is up to something quite different.

"Using the familiar format of an alphabet book for children (“A is for….”), this fiction is a truncated alphabet of surprises.

"Each entry is a path leading down avenues of imagination. The entries range from surreal parables, anthropomorphic fables, memories of an unnamed narrator, poetic musings, and deadpan observations of everyday life. There are mini epiphanies and nuggets of absurdism.

"The language is simple, in the best sense of the word, deceptively so, slightly skewed, à la Russell Edson.

"I’ve read nothing quite like it, and its originality deserves this year's Kenneth Patchen Award."

We will keep you posted about the eventual publication of the book. We are planning to release it winter, probably after the New Year begins.

Congratulations to Dennis Vanderspek, and many thanks to Derek Pell!

Added To Cart :
Add To Cart Failed :
Product successfully added to wishlist!